SMiRT 10 Conference10
Anaheim, CA, USA
August 22-27, 1989

International Scientific Committee
Conference Organization


Conference Organization

The American Association for SMiRT is the host organization for the 10th SMiRT Conference. The Board of Directors of the Association is formed of IASMiRT Members who have actively participated in previous SMiRT Conferences. In addition to their long-standing familiarity with SMiRT traditions, they bring to the Conference organization their extensive technical and managerial skills.

A Senior Advisory Panel is also assembled whose members are called upon, as needed, to provide counsel and guidance to the Board of Directors on a host of diverse technical and organizational matters.

The Conference Steering Committee is the executive body responsible for organizational matters, technical program development, publishing of the proceedings, support services and the financing of the Conference.

AASMiRT Board of Directors

  • Asadour H. Hadjian, Chairman
    Bechtel Power Corporation, Los Angeles, California
  • George E. Apostolakis
    University of California, Los Angeles, California
  • Ted B. Belytschko
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois
  • Joseph F. Gloudeman
    The MacNeal-Schwendler Corporation, Los Angeles, California
  • Robert P. Kennedy
    RPK Structural Mechanics Consulting, Yorba Linda, California
  • Yusef R. Rashid – Treasurer
    AMATECH Research Corporation, La Jolla, California
  • James E. Richardson
    U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC
  • Craig B. Smith – Secretary
    Facilities Systems Engineering Corporation, Inglewood, California
  • John D. Stevenson
    Stevenson & Associates, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Walter A. von Riesemann
    Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico)

Advisory Panel

    • Bruno Boley
      Columbia University of New York, New York
    • Harvey F. Brush
      Bechtel Power Corporation, San Francisco, California
    • Herbert Kouts
      Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York
    • David Okrent
      University of California, Los Angeles, California
    • Lawrence C. Shao
      U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC


  • Karl E. Stahlkopf
    Electric Power Research Institute, Palo Alto, California


Conference Steering Committee

  • George E. Apostolakis – Scope Proceedings
    Mechanical, Aerospace, and Nuclear Engineerng Department,
    University of California, 5532 Boelter Hall, Los Angeles, CA 90024-1597
  • Joseph F. Gloudeman – Local Arrangements/Special Events
    The MacNeal-Schwendler Corporation
    815 Colorado Blvd., Los Angeles, California 90041-1777
  • Asadour H. Hadjian, Chairman
    Bechtel Power Corporation
    P.O. Box 60860 – Terminal Annex, Los Angeles, California 90060
  • Robert P. Kennedy – Program/Coordinators
    RPK Structural Mechanics Consulting
    18971 Villa Terrace, Yorba Linda, California 92686
  • Yusef R. Rashid – Budget/Seminars
    AMATECH Research Corporation
    P.O. Box 9165, La Jolla, California 92038
  • Craig B. Smith – Support Services/Finance/Information
    Facilities Systems Engineering Corporation
    8933 So. La Cienega Blvd., Inglewood, California 90301