SMiRT 7 Conference7
Chicago, USA
August 22-26, 1983

Chair’s Message
Organization Committee
International Scientific Committee  
Supporting Industrial Organizations
Jaeger Prize

While maintaining the overall scope of the previous conferences, SMiRT 7 covered all aspects of engineering mechanics pertaining to mechanical and structural components and the relevant systems in nuclear fission or fusion reactors. Papers were distributed among 12 divisions as well as General Lectures and Conference Organization Papers.

Presented by

The Commission of the European Communities
Argonne National Laboratory

in cooperation with

Commonwealth Edison Company • Sargent & Lundy Engineers • Electric Power Research Institute • Franklin Research Center • Northwestern University • U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission • U.S. Department of Energy • Electricité de France • Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique • Bundesanstalt für Materialprüfung • D’Appolinia Consulting Engineers


American Academy of Mechanics • American Nuclear Society • American Society of Civil Engineers • American Society of Mechanical Engineers • Bechtel Power Corporation • British Nuclear Energy Society • Centro Internazionale delle Scienze Meccaniche • Gessellschaft für Reaktorsicherheit • Lawrence Livermore Laboratory • Massachusetts Institute of Technology • Office of Naval Research