SMiRT 20 Conference20
Espoo (Helsinki), Finland
August 9-14, 2009

Officers and Advisory Board
Local Organizing Committee 
International Scientific Committee

The 20th International Conference on Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology was held August 9-14, 2009 at the Dipoli Congress Centre in Espoo (Helsinki), Finland. It follows 19 successful biannual conferences organised in major cities around the world.

SMiRT 20 has 10 Technical Divisions which were renewed after the SMiRT 19 by the decision of the Board. These are:

  • Division 1: Mechanics of Materials
  • Division 2: Fracture Mechanics and Structural Integrity
  • Division 3: Applied Computations, Simulations and Animation
  • Division 4: Characterization of Loads
  • Division 5: Modeling, Testing and Response Analysis of Structures, Systems and Components
  • Division 6: Design and Construction Issues
  • Division 7: Safety, Reliability, Risk and Margins
  • Division 8: Issues Related to Operations, Inspection and Maintenance
  • Division 9: Waste Management, Fuel Cycle Facilities and Decommissioning
  • Division 10: Challenges of New Reactors

Besides Technical Divisions of scientific papers the SMiRT 20 Programme consists of Leadership Forum, Technical Plenary Sessions, Panel Workshops and Tutorial Workshops having topics of major interest

One Post-Conference seminar on Fire Safety was held in Helsinki hosted by STUK.

Presented by

SMiRT 20 Secretariat
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
P.O. Box 1000, FI-02044 VTT, Finland
Tel +358 20 722 111
Fax +358 20 722 7053