SMiRT 20 Conference20
Espoo (Helsinki), Finland
August 9-14, 2009

Chair’s Message
Officers and Advisory Board
Local Organizing Committee 
International Scientific Committee


International Scientific Committee (ISC)


  • Claude Faidy, Electricite de France (EdF)


  • Seppo Vuori, VTT
  • Abhinav Gupta, NC State University

Members and Division Coordinators

Division 1: Mechanics of Materials

  • Chair: Sylvain Leclercq, Electricite de France (EdF)
  • Co-Chair: Jianling Dong, Institute of Nuclear and New Energy Technology (INET)
  • Co-Chair: Hannu Hänninen, Helsinki University of Techology (HUT)

Division 2: Fracture Mechanics and Structural Integrity

  • Chair: David Lidbury, Serco Assurance
  • Co-Chair: Bijan K. Dutta, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
  • Co-Chair: Eberhard Roos, MPA, University Stuttgart
  • Co-Chair: Kim Wallin, Academy of Finland

Division 3: Applied Computations, Simulations and Animation

  • Chair: P.K Vijayan, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
  • Co-Chair: Nawal Prinja, AMEC Nuclear

Division 4: Characterization of Loads

  • Chair: Emmanuel Viallet, Electricite de France (EDF)
  • Co-Chair: Co-Chair: Sujit Samadar, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (USNRC)
  • Co-Chair: Markku Tuomala, Tampere University of Technology (TUT)

Division 5: Modeling, Testing and Response Analysis of Structures, Systems and Components

  • Chair: Prabir.C. Basu, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Government of India
  • Co-Chair: Andrei Blahoianu, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
  • Co-Chair: Susumu Nakamura, Obayashi Corporation
  • Co-Chair: Jari Puttonen, Helsinki University of Technology (HUT)

Division 6: Design and Construction Issues

  • Chair: Mike Hessheimer, Sandia National Laboratory (SNL)
  • Co-Chair: Eric Mathet, ATMEA-SAS
  • Co-Chair: Ayman Saudy, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL)

Division 7: Safety, Reliability, Risk and Margins

  • Chair: Greg Hardy, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger
  • Co-Chair: Seiichiro Fukushima, Tokyo Electric Power Services
  • Co-Chair: H.S.Kushwaba, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
  • Co-Chair: Kaisa Simola, VTT, R&D, System Research

Division 8: Issues Related to Operations, Inspection and Maintenance

  • Chair: Stephen Doctor, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
  • Co-Chair: Paolo Contri, Joint Research Centre of European Commission (JRC)
  • Co-Chair: Elisabeth Keim, AREVA NP GmbH
  • Co-Chair: Victor Kostarev, CKTI-Vibroseism Company, Ltd

Division 9: Waste Management, Fuel Cycle Facilities and Decommissioning

  • Chair: Bob Tripathi, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (USNRC)
  • Co-Chair: Alain Millard, Commissariat a l’Energie Atomique (CEA)
  • Co-Chair: Zaozhan Sun, Ministry of Environmental Protection of the People’s Republic of China

Division 10: Challenges of New Reactors

  • Chair: Cheryl O’Brien, Idaho National Laboratory (INL)
  • Co-Chair: Conzetta Fazio, Foschungszentrum Karlsruhe (FzK), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Co-Chair: Jing Wen, China Institute of Atomic Energy (CIAE)